Joss Whedon Talks Wonder Woman & Possibly Directing A DC Movie!

For those who don’t remember, Joss Whedon’s career almost took an entirely different turn when he was tasked with writing and directing a Wonder Woman movie.  It didn’t pan out, the movie was shelved, forgotten, and then suddenly Joss Whedon was called to write and direct The Avengers and the rest was history.  After The Avengers: Age of Ultron, Whedon has said he plans on doing other things and has said he wouldn’t mind directing another super hero movie, even if it’s a DC one to which he touches on.

joss whedon, wonder woman, marvel, dc, wb, disney, gambitcon“Sure. I’d be like ‘I have all these joke ideas.’ And they’d be like ‘No, we don’t do that here,'” he teased, before adding: “I desperately wanted to do a Batman film – who doesn’t? And I wanted to do Wonder Woman. I was a Marvel kid growing up, but I was always DC-curious. And I see myself on the spectrum in between.” A new Batman movie is expected at some point in the next few years, with Ben Affleck returning as Batman.  While Whedon wouldn’t be my first choice to helm a Batman movie, I do find the idea intriguing, but…what about Wonder Woman?   Joss doesn’t have any plans on trying to take her away from current director Michelle MacLaren.  “I don’t care who she’s seeing now. We don’t talk much. And I wish her well! I worked really hard on that movie and it meant a lot, but I don’t know if what I was trying to do would fit in with what their vision is. I’m excited to see it so I just want them to make it so I can see it!”

I admit it would feel weird to see Whedon defect to DC but I’m also interested in seeing what he’d do, but if I had a choice, I’d prefer he stay with the universe he helped build.

Posted on April 27, 2015, in Movie News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

