Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down A Huge Role!

One misconception many people have about movies is you can tell what it’s going to be just by the script.  In come cases you can but others, there are so many moving parts when it comes to making a movie that if everyone isn’t totally on board, they can sink a project quick.  A script can start out being the best thing about the project, but the director, producer, even the actor have different ideas which can sink what was once thought a great project.

So in that, you can’t really blame an actor for turning down what in hindsight looks like a no-brainer.  While talking to Playboy, Josh Hartnett says he regrets turning down the role of Bruce Wayne/Batman in Christopher Nolan’s Batman Begins.

josh hartnett, gambitcon, batman begins“I’ve definitely said no to some of the wrong people,” Hartnett says. “I said no because I was tired and wanted to spend more time with my friends and family. That’s frowned upon in this industry. People don’t like being told no. I don’t like it. I learned my lesson when [writer-director] Christopher Nolan and I talked about Batman. I decided it wasn’t for me. Then he didn’t want to put me in ‘The Prestige.’ They not only hired their Batman for it, they also hired my girlfriend at the time [Scarlett Johansson].”

Instead, Hartnett made “Lucky Number Slevin” and “The Black Dahlia,” neither of which performed very well. Meanwhile, Christian Bale starred in “The Prestige” and went on to play the Caped Crusader in all three of Nolan’s Batman films.

“That’s when I realized relationships were formed in the fire of that first Batman film and I should have been part of the relationship with this guy Nolan, who I felt was incredibly cool and very talented,” Hartnett says. “I was so focused on not being pigeonholed and so scared of being considered only one thing as an actor. I should have thought, Well, then, work harder, man. Watching Christian Bale go on to do so many other things has been just awesome. I mean, he’s been able to overcome that. Why couldn’t I see that at the time?”

I for one am glad he turned it down, I couldn’t buy or see Hartnett as Batman, I couldn’t see him putting in the work that Bale did and although he is very talented, I could see him being the weak link in the movie.  Hartnett works much better as an actor when he isn’t the central character.  He was pretty amazing in Sin City and I’ve heard he is pretty good in Showtimes Penny Dreadful.

Posted on April 17, 2015, in Movie News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

