Walking Dead Actor Talks Character Death!

For those of you who caught last nights episode of The Walking Dead (which means SPOILERS IF YOU HAVEN’T) you were just as surprised as anyone to watch Tyrese die in what was probably one of the most anti-climatic ways imaginable.  Why did they just dump a fan favorite who had a very significant role in the comics.  So what happened?  Chad Coleman explains.

chad coleman, the walking dead, amc, film monster“The reason why I’m not alive is everyone circles around Rick. My ideology and philosophy doesn’t fit. So I wouldn’t stay, anyway. I would have to tell my sister, if you feel like this is the way to do things, then I’m just going to go off on my own and find some like-minded people. But they weren’t going to go that route, because the show is focused on Rick. [Aside from that,] the creation of Daryl, more than anything else, is probably the reason why I’m not on the show. I was [Rick’s] right-hand man [in the comics].”

So they got rid of him because he wouldn’t fit in the group?  Look, I love what they did with him during his final episode, but let’s be real, the show hasn’t managed to keep a black character long and during the racial diversity we are suffering today killing off black characters every season probably isn’t the smartest thing to do nowadays.

Now I’m not talking about changing or contorting an art form simply because it would hurt someone’s feelings, I think Tyrese’s death was pretty amazing on how they showed what happens when you start to turn, I just think it was a little too soon for something like that to happen to him.  Tyrese could have easily been around for another season or two and it’s not like they couldn’t have had him go off on his own or diverge into another story line.   AMC is already producing spin-off of the popular series and the biggest middle finger to this excuse, you mean to tell me Rick couldn’t have another soldier by his side just like Daryl?

Posted on February 9, 2015, in TV and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

